Provider: Global News
Categories: World & Regional

N.S. student mock-election results show Mike Savage re-elected HRM mayor

Nearly 10,000 Nova Scotia youth voted in a parallel election for youth who are not yet eligible to vote, and the results show several re-elected candidates.According to Civix, the non-profit offering the Student Vote program federally, says 90 elementary and high schools representing 22 municipalities in the province participated.In the Halifax Regional Municipality, Mike Savage was re-elected mayor with 45 per cent of the vote, defeating the municipality’s youngest candidate and Tik Tok star Max Taylor by just 1.4 per cent.Fourty-one schools with over 5,000 students voted in the HRM alone.
Read more:
Nova Scotia youth to participate in municipal elections through Student Vote program

The Halifax students elected the following council: Story continues below advertisement

District 1: Cathy Deagle GammonDistrict 2: Nicole JohnsonDistrict 3: Becky KentDistrict 4: Kevin ForanDistrict 5: Sam AustinDistrict 6: Tony ManciniDistrict 7: Waye MasonDistrict 8: Lindell SmithDistrict 9: Bill CarrDistrict 10: Renee FieldDistrict 11: Patty CuttellDistrict 12: Iona StoddardDistrict 13: Pam LovelaceDistrict 14: Lisa BlackburnDistrict 15: Jay Aaron RoyDistrict 16: Tim Outhit

Trending Stories

Massive fire destroys lobster pound in southern Nova Scotia

Who was Calvin Hoover? The man Toronto police say killed 9-year-old Christine Jessop in 1984

Halifax councillor says historic trees aren’t going anywhere

Halifax councillor says historic trees aren’t going anywhere

In the Cape Breton Regional Municipality, 1,500 students from 12 schools voted in the mock election.Amanda McDougall was elected mayor at 40 per cent, defeating incumbent candidate Cecil Clarke.
Read more:
HRM election 2020: Deadline approaching to vote by paper ballots

Throughout the province, the following mayoral candidates have been elected by Nova Scotia students:Town of Antigonish: Laurie Boucher (acclaimed)Town of Bridgewater: David Mitchell (acclaimed)Town of Clark’s Harbour: Rex StoddardCounty of Colchester: Bob TaylorCounty of Cumberland: Jason BlanchCounty of Kings: Peter MuttartDistrict of Lunenburg: Caleb WheeldonTown of Lunenburg: Matt RisserTown of Pictou: Jim RyanRegion of Queens Municipality: Darlene NormanTown of Stellarton: Darren StroudTown of Truro: Terry Baillie / Bill Mills (tie)  Story continues below advertisement

The real Nova Scotia municipal election polls closed at 7 p.m. on Saturday.

© 2020 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.